It’s A Disney Life For Me

I can’t help myself. I like good food, ok? –Remy (Ratatouille)

You know the thing about good food? It brings folks together from all walks of life. –James (Princess and the Frog)

“All the world is made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust.”
― J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

It doesn’t take long once you know me to know that I am a HUGE Disney fan! I like everything Disney but my true passion is for the Walt Disney World theme park. I have been going there since they opened in October of 1971. I’ve gone there almost every single year and many times more than once a year. My wife and I have an annual pass so we try to get there as many times as we can afford. We have been twice since my cancer diagnosis, once in January and our latest trip that took place over a 12 day period just a couple of weeks ago in June.

Most of my peeps don’t understand my obsession with a certain theme park. Some have asked me, “There’s a several parks closer. What’s the difference?” We’ll, comparing Disney World to say a Carowinds, Six Flags, or Dollywood is like comparing cube steak to filet mignon. Cube steak is fine if that’s all you eat, but once you get a taste of the filet, you realize what you’ve been missing. (Not that there is anything wrong with the other parks or cube steak for that manner, but I think you catch my drift.)

After our sobering news from Philly about my condition, my wife decided we needed a trip to Disney. So she booked it for 12 days at Disney’s Boardwalk Resort beginning the day after we arrived home from Philly after my first chemo treatment there. I was feeling less than wonderful so I was a little apprehensive about the trip. I tend to have a tough time wanting anything to eat or drink after my treatments and that is the two most important things I need to do. We arrived home from Philly on a Tuesday evening and flew out for Orlando on a Wednesday morning. Now to say I hate flying and everything that goes with it is a vast understatement and here I am flying two days in a row while not feeling too spiffy.

We make it to Orlando without incident, and a good friend drove us to our hotel. We brought a wheelchair with us knowing that my lack of stamina would not allow me to walk the huge distances at WDW. It didn’t help me get on any rides any quicker, but we were always the first ones on the bus. My daughter and two grandsons (3 and a half and 8 months) were with us. Now some will say it is the magic of Disney, which may be a little true, but I believe it was more of God knowing what I needed and when I needed it, because I began eating and drinking right away. The entire 12 days I was there I ate well. By well I mean generously, not nutritionally. Still a big win.

We had a great time for two days and then the trip got even better as my mom, step-dad, dad, step-mom, niece, and all 5 of my siblings all came down for the weekend. The first time we have all been at Disney together in about 10 years. We had a great time posing for pics and experiencing Star Wars weekends at the Studios, Epcot, and the Magic Kingdom. Our entire trip was truly “Magical”.

The only setback I had was the area around my incision began to hurt again around Sunday. We believe it may have been aggravated by riding in the wheelchair too long. Still, all in all it was a great trip. We wound out leaving on a Sunday. We then flew to Philly on Monday. More flying. Geesh! My wife has come to the conclusion that we should go to Disney after every treatment. I would like it but I’m afraid our bank account couldn’t handle it.

I realize that this is a bit of a deviation from my usual blogs. Don’t worry. I’ll get back to the doom and gloom later. Right now though, I’m feeling good. Thank you God for giving me a happy place to go to.

Leave a Reply

